What is Vegan Foods?( Why Vegan Foods, Advantages and Disadvantages of Vegan Diet)2020
Vegan Food/Vegan diet/Vegan Meaning:-
Vegan diet is defines as it is type of vegetarian diet based on wide variety of whole plant foods but vegan diet exclude animal and their by products known as a vegan diet''.ex:- Fruits. vegetables, whole grain, legumes, nuts, oil seed.
Why vegan?
''Preventing the exploitation of animal is not the only reason for becoming vegan, but for many reason it remains the key factor in their decision to go vegan and stay vegan. Having emotional attachment with animals may form the part of that reason, while many believe that all sentient creatures have a right to life and freedom."/Vegan Food List/As a vegan you can eat:
- Fruits and vegetables.
- Legumes(peas, beans, chickpeas, lentils etc.).
- Nuts.
- Oil seeds and vegetable oils.
- Dairy alternatives.
- Cereals and pulses.
As a vegan you can't eat
- Beef, pork, lamb and other red meat.
- Poultry, chicken and duck.
- Fish, crabs, prawns and shellfish.
- Eggs.
- Milk and milk products.
- mayonnaise.
- Honey.
- Alcohol.
- White sugar.
- Chocolate.
- Figs.
- Insect products.
1) Beef, pork, lamb and poultry, chicken and duck, sea foods, egg and milk.
vegan exclude all of the above products because their production causes animal suffering and premature death .In egg production most of the male chicks are culled because they do not lay eggs. To obtain milk from dairy cattle, cows are made pregnant to induce lactation; they are keep lactating for 3-7 years, then slaughter. female calves can be separated from their mothers within 24 hours of birth, and fed milk replacer to retain the cow's milk for human consumption. Most male calves are slaughtered at birth. sent for veal production, or reared for beef.
2)Mayonnaise
Mayonnaise is normally not vegan because of one of the crucial ingredient is egg but several brands of egg free and dairy free vegan mayonnaise can be found .Be aware at the time of purchasing, look for vegan stamp
3)Honey
Honey is not a vegan because honey is made by bees for bees and during harvesting many of the bees are killed.
4)Alcohol
Alcohol contain: Egg whites, milk products, crustacean shell, bone and connective tissue, fish bladder. Companies may use isinglass(a substance obtained from fish bladders), gelatin, eggs whites, sea shell and other animal products which capture impurities.
5)White sugar
White sugar contain cow bones to whiten their sugar.in US many sugar companies use bone char(charred bones).
6)Chocolate
Dark chocolate brands may still use milk products so check the ingredients list or look for a vegan stamp.
7)Figs
At the time of fig pollination it requires female wasp to die inside. The wasp entered to lay her eggs.is then unable to escape and is broken down by enzymes in the fig. Figs would be unable to pollinate without the female wasps but wasps also need the figs to lay their eggs. As they both need each other to survive, it's what's known as a symbiotic relationship.
8)Insect products
Vegan group disagree about insects products. Neither the vegan society nor the American vegan society considered honey, silks, and other insect products as suitable for vegans.
As a vegan you also avoid using following :
- Clothing(made with animal products)
Many clothing products may be made of animal products such as silk, wool, fur, feathers, pearls, animal derived dyes, leather, snakeskin or animal products.
Very helpful 👍
ReplyDeleteInformative
ReplyDeleteGood info.about veganism !
ReplyDelete